New City Council Cabinet announced

1 May 2024
City logo

The proposed new cabinet is 

The ten cabinet members are:

Councillor Bella Sankey - leader of the council and cabinet chairwoman

Councillor Jacob Taylor - deputy leader and cabinet member for finance and city regeneration

Councillor Gill Williams - deputy leader and cabinet member for housing and new homes

Councillor Emma Daniel - cabinet member for children, families and youth services

Councillor Tristram Burden - cabinet member for adult social care and service transformation

Councillor Tim Rowkins – cabinet member for net zero and environmental services

Councillor Trevor Muten – cabinet member for transport, parking and public realm

Councillor Leslie Pumm – cabinet member for communities, equalities and human rights

Councillor Birgit Miller – cabinet member for culture, heritage and tourism

Councillor Alan Robins – cabinet member for sports and recreation

Cllr Sankey has also appointed four cabinet advisers, who will serve one-year terms and will focus on specific policy areas and key projects.

The four cabinet advisors for 2024-25 are:

Councillor Ty Goddard – cabinet adviser for regional partnerships and economic growth.

Councillor Mitchie Alexander – cabinet adviser for community engagement, food insecurity and allotments.

Councillor Paul Nann – cabinet adviser for a homeless hub. Cllr Nann will lead the development of a city homeless hub, with the aim of co-locating services and support to end rough sleeping.

Councillor Joy Robinson – cabinet advisor for contract management and procurement.

Chairmen and deputy chairmen have also been appointed to the council’s regulatory committees, while chairmen of the three overview and scrutiny committees were elected on Monday night by the Labour group.

The overview and scrutiny committees on place, people and health will review and scrutinise decisions made by the cabinet and will influence policy. Councillors in policy lead roles will drive policy development and implementation on a number of Labour’s priorities.

The regulatory committee chairmen are:

Councillor Liz Loughran – chairwoman of the planning committee

Councillor David McGregor – chairman of licensing committee

Councillor Josh Guilmant – opposition spokesman on the audit and standards committee

Councillor Bruno De Oliveira – chairman of the health and wellbeing board

The overview and scrutiny chairmen are:

Councillor Jackie O’Quinn – chairwoman of people overview and scrutiny committee

Councillor Amanda Evans – chairwoman of place overview and scrutiny committee

Councillor Theresa Fowler – chairwoman of health overview and scrutiny committee

The mayor and deputy mayor for 24/25 are:

Councillor Mohammed Asaduzzaman – Mayor of Brighton and Hove

Councillor Amanda Grimshaw – deputy mayor of Brighton and Hove

Leader-appointed policy lead roles for 24/25 are:

Councillor Julie Cattell - major projects and built environment; human resources

Councillor Amanda Evans - community wealth building

Councillor Jilly Stevens - customer service

Councillor Paul Nann - homelessness

Councillor Gary Wilkinson - park and ride

Councillor Amanda Grimshaw - disability rights including accessibility strategy; armed forces champion

Councillor Tobias Sheard - private rental sector

Councillor Ty Galvin - ageing well

Councillor Josh Guilmant - co-lead sport and leisure

Councillor John Hewitt - co-lead sport and leisure

Councillor Maureen Winder - green spaces and equalities

Councillor Alison Thomson - city centre renewal

Councillor Andrei Czolak - community safety; mental health

Councillor Theresa Fowler - South DownsNational Park and marine biodiversity; animal welfare

Councillor David McGregor - communications lead

Councillor Paul Nann - IT and digital

This website uses cookies

Like most websites, this site uses cookies. Some are required to make it work, while others are used for statistical or marketing purposes. If you choose not to allow cookies some features may not be available, such as content from other websites. Please read our Cookie Policy for more information.

Essential cookies enable basic functions and are necessary for the website to function properly.
Statistics cookies collect information anonymously. This information helps us to understand how our visitors use our website.
Marketing cookies are used by third parties or publishers to display personalized advertisements. They do this by tracking visitors across websites.